How best to proceed with multiple digital music sources..

Stevie9

Jun 9, 2015
Visit site
Hi,

Where do I start with a NAS.. ? It's probably a very old topic on here but I am quite new to NAS/Hard Drives and Streamers.

I have a small cd collection, I also use iplayer on my laptop plugged into my amp. Now the most recent development is the very convenient Amazon Music Player app. I don't have a vast mp3 collection but I can see it growing. Plus I've just become aware of buying music via Qobuz.

What I plan to do next is to get a NAS or USB Hard drive device and a very good Cambridge Audio CXN Streamer.

I like GOOD quality sound. I don't like using my laptop for storing my music as you tend to change your laptop every 2 years, and laptops fail.

My system is currently LINN & CREEK front end, Audiolab amps, and Tannoy floorstanders, and always Sennheiser headphones.

My questions are:

1) If I want to move forward and collate my music to NAS and a Network streamer will I be able to move all my iplayer tracks to the NAS? I guess the Amazon Music Player app is accessed direct via the Network Streamer. Ideally I want to take my laptop completely out of the loop and will get a android tablet to communicate with the Streamer.

2) Which NAS is a good one? I like reliability and dependability. Something that will out last me.

3) Whats the difference between a USB hard drive and NAS.. ? Is there more storage on NAS?

4) Is downloaded music from Qobuz stored in the NAS via my laptop?

5) Will the NAS show all my music to the Network streamer so its all in one place for selection?

6) Am I short changing myself by using mp3 as a source? Does the quality vary depending on where you get them? Amazon say that their mp3 qualities do vary.

7) Do I connect the NAS to the router or can I connect the NAS direct to the Network Streamer? Or is it the USB hard drive that can only connect direct to the Network streamer?