Home cinema/Stereo equipment combo questions

dans2394

Nov 15, 2020
Visit site
Hi All,

So this is the situation,

Room size... 8x15ft

I have a 2019 LG C9 55" TV wall mounted... external sources include, SKY Q 1TB box, Netflix & Amazon Prime Video...
I have a Rega Planar 1 Plus Turntable (Phono out only)

The TV is mounted about 7.5 ft away opposite the Sofa.

I plan on having a 3.1 system, Front left & right, centre and sub.

My idea is when using the receiver for stereo only the left & right + sub will be used.

When watching TV/Movies etc.. all speakers will be used as a "home cinema" if you like...

This is the equipment I am looking at purchasing..

Marantz NR1711 AV Receiver
Dali Oberon 5's as L/R speakers
Dali Oberon Vokal as centre
Dali E-12F as Sub

Any criticism of this setup? I have never done this before, have always just had a Sonos sound bar but im hoping this setup will be an improvement!

I just want to make sure these components are all of a similar standard, to ensure I am making the most of all of them and getting the best from my TV at the same time. Anyone spot a major weak link or a components which seems overkill for this setup?

Any advice welcome. Thanks,

Dan

dans2394

Nov 15, 2020
Visit site
I doubt that you'll need a sub in a room that small, given that you are 7.5 feet from the TV and with floorstanding speakers. You can always add one late if you so wish.

Thanks for your reply, yes thats a fair comment, perhaps I will go with the three speakers to start, I have just heard it is good to have a sub on the system something to do with the power distribution from the Receiver... I might be talking rubbish there tho... like I say just here for guidance on best thing to do as I want to buy once and be happy for a number of years. :)

Any other comments on the equipment?

Tonestar1