home cinema av/amp features

jokerpaulonline

Sep 16, 2009
Visit site
Right, you lot have talked me out of getting the bose lifestyle 48 system.

As I am new to the home cinema market I need lots of help,

Firstly to start of with the av/amp. can you let me know all the different features that you can get on different types of amps, so that I can see which of these features I would want the most to help me in choosing the right amp. Do you get different amps for 5.1 and 7.1 set ups, Is there much difference between the 2, as when look on dvd's most of them say 5.1 sound.

also would i be able to run my exsisting stero through it, or would i be able to run my excisting stero through the same speakers that i am going to run my home cinema through?

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
The more expensive amp you buy, the more features you will get, and once you get to the level of a DSPZ7, the only thing you don't really get is THX, which isn't a necessity anyway. From there, it's just more power, better quality, and a stupidly more expensive version of THX! For me, the Z7 offers the best value for money of any AV receiver based on it's features and capabilities at it's rrp (£2k), and the fact that it's about £500 less at the moment just bangs that fact home!

Virtually all amps are capable of 7.1 nowadays. There are more and more movies coming out with 7.1 soundtracks - I've seen quite a few on Bluray recently.

You can add your AV receiver to your hi-fi system, or if your AV amp turned out to be better than your hi-fi amp, you could plug all your hi-fi sources into that instead.

My last post on your other thread stands as a strong recommendation.

d4v3pum4

Nov 15, 2008
Visit site