Hi- Fi amps on a shoe string budget?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello what Hifi users! I am new to both the Hifi Field and this fourm so please be gentle for a first poster.

I have just picked up a pair of Warfendale 9.0's @ £39.99 and am now on the hunt for an amp to run them off but on a limited (<£100) budget. At the moment we have them hooked up to my flatmates Hitachi AX M66 Hifi and they are sounding preaty good (actualy incredible for the money- beat my £60 Senheiser HD555 headphones into the floor). Now I need to sort out my own amp. I am planning to use them hooked up for a PC for music, films and games as a set of PC speakers.

I have been looking through the amp market- both new and used and was suprised at how poor choice there actualy was- particularly second hand at my price point. I would apreciate it if you could give me verdictcs on the following amps I found and rank them. Sugestions for the sub £100 price range are very much apreciated.

New

Cambridge Audio TOPAZ AM5 At+ 100 I dont want to strech the cash this far but its one of the only decent brand amps I could find at a good price

Renkforce mini-HiFi-amplifier E-SA Its small. Its inexpensive. It has some good amazon reviews but low output (12w to 75 wt max dimonds).

Used

Tangent AMP-50 Pros- some reviews around the net say its ok. Higher output wt to speakers and better looking audio imput but no remote included

Denon DRA-F100 Hi-fi Pros- Good brand name and good output but its from 2001 and still £60 + shipping?!!!

And finaly

Yamaha RX V350 Amplifier Its an AVR amp, not hifi and I have seen moaning about the sound quality of AVR's vs HIFI on here but it does have a good output W rating and seams to be in good condition and even includes the remote
Yamaha RX V350 Amplifier Its an AVR amp, not hifi and I have seen moaning about the sound quality of AVR's vs HIFI on here but it does have a good output W rating and seams to be in good condition and even includes the remote