Help with 5.1 Speakers and AV receiver

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello,

I'm looking to buy a pair of 5.1 surround speakers to go with my 32" 1080p TV but I have no knowledge in this domain.

At start I was thinking to buy a pair of Logitech Z506 and hook them up to the TV, but while browsing for them I saw a pair of Pioneer S-HS100 at £110 and they look ok but from what I can tell they need an AV receiver or an amplifier to work with the TV.

So I'm wondering would the sound quality be much better or does it just make it easier to connect multiple audio/video inputs? If so what AV receiver should I buy?

I'm not really looking to spend much on this setup, say around £150 for the speakers (with wall mounting support) and for the AV receiver I really don't know.

Thank you!

The_Lhc

Oct 16, 2008
Visit site
Snortan said:

Hello,

I'm looking to buy a pair of 5.1 surround speakers to go with my 32" 1080p TV but I have no knowledge in this domain.

I don't think you quite understand what you're after, a set of 5.1 surround speakers consists of 6 individual speakers, not a pair, the 5.1 refers to 5 main speakers and 1 subwoofer. With just two speakers you won't get surround, just stereo.

[/quote]At start I was thinking to buy a pair of Logitech Z506 and hook them up to the TV, but while browsing for them I saw a pair of Pioneer S-HS100 at £110 and they look ok but from what I can tell they need an AV receiver or an amplifier to work with the TV.[/quote]

Yes the Pioneer ones would, however just a pair would sound a little weak as they're designed to work in conjuction with the matching subwoofer and being style speakers don't go very low down into the bass region by themselves.

So I'm wondering would the sound quality be much better or does it just make it easier to connect multiple audio/video inputs?

Yes to both questions.

If so what AV receiver should I buy?