Help please: No component picture through a Sony STR-DG820

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi

I'm new to AV receivers and I've just bought a new (open box) Sony STR-DG820 and I'm in the process of connecting everything through it. I'm having problems with my ageing DVD recorder (Sony RGR-GX700). Previously it was connected to my TV via scart and worked fine. Now I'm connecting it through the amp via component for the video (Video 1) and optical for the sound. The sound is working fine but I cannot get any picture. I've set the component option to 'on' in the DVD menu and I've checked the component lead is OK by connecting the DVD directly to the TV. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Gerrardasnails

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
Kirkview:
Hi

I'm new to AV receivers and I've just bought a new (open box) Sony STR-DG820 and I'm in the process of connecting everything through it. I'm having problems with my ageing DVD recorder (Sony RGR-GX700). Previously it was connected to my TV via scart and worked fine. Now I'm connecting it through the amp via component for the video (Video 1) and optical for the sound. The sound is working fine but I cannot get any picture. I've set the component option to 'on' in the DVD menu and I've checked the component lead is OK by connecting the DVD directly to the TV. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Does the Sony receiver upconvert component to hdmi? I wouldn't be surprised if it doesn't. You would therefore need to connect the dvd player to your screen with component and then the audio cable from dvd to amp.

A

Anonymous

Thanks. Just phoned Sony and they said the same.

Does this mean I can't watch any component signal through the receiver, in which case why has it got 3 sets of component in jacks?

At the moment I have a Wii connected to the only component in jack on my TV. Is it the case that I can only have either the DVD recorder or the Wii connected at one time if neither of them can be routed through the receiver?

Thanks.

d4v3pum4