Help please deciding on AV Receiver upgrade or not

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I am looking to upgrade my Arcam AVR280 to the Pioneer SC-LX73 as it ticks all the boxes with gadgets but I need to know whether it will sound as good/better with music via Blu-ray/DVD as my existing Arcam (which seems pretty good to me) which is run via Analogue outs from the Pioneer LX-08 blu ray player.

Help me decide please [:D]

rendu

Sep 10, 2008
Visit site
Hello, I have some experience myself with the Arcam AVR280. I have changed receiver several times trying to improve the musicality of the system. I had a Denon 1602 then an Onkyo 701E and now an Arcam AVR280. When I decided to go for the Arcam, it was based on the reviews from most specialized magazines which claimed this to be one of the most musical receivers. I have had this for almost one year now and I am quite happy but I still think that it does not provide the same quality for music as you would get from a separate stereo amp. At the beggining I had the Arcam paired with B&W 685 but one day I tried with my old Wharfedale 9.1. and found that I enjoyed the music more so, I left it with the Wharfedale 9.1. It seems that this amp works better with smaller speakers that have lots of clarity and not so much bass. The B&W 685 had too much bass for the Arcam and sounded muded.