Help a newbie with questions...please.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
OK, I am fairly new to all this Home Cinema stuff and am about to embark on buying some kit. I have a couple of questions that I hope someone will be able to help with.

I currently have some fairly good hifi. I have an Arcam cd73 player which is pretty good. I have an old arcam 7r amp which I bought in 98 which is still great. Coupled with these are some Accoustic Energy 109s which I am really pleased with.

The questions are these.

1) could I buy something like the Sony £400 reciever which gets great reviews, and replace the 7R amp.

2) Could I use the AE speakers as Front speakers and get rears, a centre and a sub to go along with the AE's or just start again to a certain extent,

3) would the sony amp be as good as the outgoing 7R

Thanks for your help. I promise to reply to other peoples posts if I have any info and not just ask questions all the time.

Bayf

Simon Lucas

Jun 5, 2007
Visit site
Always nice to see a list. I like to list my replies.

1) Yes, you could.

2) If you like your 109s, retain them as your front left and right speakers. It's important that your centre speaker is tonally similar to the 109s, so I'd suggest having a word with Acoustic Energy to see if any of its current products would be a sympathetic match. It might be less aggro than auditioning a load of speaker packages. The rear speakers and subwoofer are less critical in terms of tonality-matching.

3) Not a chance. The Sony's an excellent product on its own terms, but it can't hold a candle to a late-90s Arcam 7R when it comes to music-making. I reckon you'd need to think about chucking at least £800 at a multichannel amplifier if you want to approach the Arcam's stereo sound.

A

Anonymous