Got the bug again...

Secretagentmole

Sep 19, 2020
Visit site
It started years ago when I was a student, built myself up a reasonable sounding system from carboot sales.

Then modern life intervened and quality got shoved aside by convenience.

Clicking through the lots at a local auction hoause catalogue.

Lot includes Denon Turntable, Sony Amplifier, Technics Tuner plus cd player and speakers. The speakers in the accompanying pictures were Tannoy R1s...

Left a bid of £50. Got it for £48 which, with vat and commission was £58.50.

Picked it up, the alleged hifi cabinet was a TV stand. Oh well. The cd player was a Fisher Laboratory series one (?). But there was a complete set up there.

Now being on the permanently skint side of life isn't easy. But my wife found a hifi unit being given away, given! So we went and got it. Glass shelves, chrome spacers, very nice. A set of speaker stands were found, £15 for some decent metal ones.

This was the first generation.

The speakers were missing the interconnect jumpers, so a purchase of some 99% OFC speaker cable, still on the roll, for a tenner cures that and the "oh my god what cable is this" speaker cable.

The cd player draw would not stay open and putting a disc in was like playing with Arkwright's till. That had to go. A Technics SLPG 390 saw the till heading to the local recycling centre.

The Denon turntable was a DP200 which could knacker music by recording to MP3 automatically... Sounded OK though, but we did buy a new stylus before using it.