Good amplifier for Wharfedale Diamond 9.0?

Nov 18, 2016
Visit site
Hi there,

Looking for a amplifier for a pair of Wharfedale Diamond 9.0 speakers so I can listen to my record player in my bedroom. I'm a student so sadly can't afford too much. No more than £50 or £60 if possible, ideally less. Any suggestions of decent amps that'll do the job pretty well?

Thanks

muljao

Jul 18, 2016
Visit site
A second hand marantz pm4200 will do the job nicely

Edit- scrap that idea. I got mixed up. The wharfedales are 6 ohms, the marantz is fussy with this, I thought they were 8 ohms.

insider9

The cheapest possible (about £30+) should be Cambridge Audio A1, A5 maybe A500. These would not come with phono stage if you need one but would leave enough in your budget to pick one up.

insider9

Ollie Heptinstall said:
insider9 said:
The cheapest possible (about £30+) should be Cambridge Audio A1, A5 maybe A500. These would not come with phono stage if you need one but would leave enough in your budget to pick one up.
Thanks. Excuse my ignorance but what is a phono stage?
I understand when you say a record player you mean turntable? If so all turntables require a phono stage, some of the new ones have them built in.

Without getting technical it is a preamp that allows a turntable to be connected to an amp. Some integrated amplifiers have them built in.

If course if by saying a record player you meant a CD player that won't be necessary.

Nov 18, 2016
Visit site
insider9 said:
Ollie Heptinstall said:
insider9 said:
Thanks. Excuse my ignorance but what is a phono stage?
I understand when you say a record player you mean turntable? If so all turntables require a phono stage, some of the new ones have them built in.

Without getting technical it is a preamp that allows a turntable to be connected to an amp. Some integrated amplifiers have them built in.

If course if by saying a record player you meant a CD player that won't be necessary.