Gigabit Network Setup Help for Home

mattjax05

Oct 5, 2007
Visit site
Hi all.

I would like to increase the transfer speed of files from my laptop to readyNas Duo. My router is a BT Homehub 3 (The one with Infinity) so it's nas and laptop to router. The router only has one gigabit port so I guess I need a gigabit switch? I'm not sure if my laptop has a gigabit NIC how do I check for sure? I did connect it to router (in the gigabit port) but the laptop was only showing 100mbps. The cable I used said Cat5 on it BUT..... I used the same cable from router to Nas and the Nas software registered a 1000 Mbps??? Really confused on that one! The laptop is a cheap Dell and circa 3 years old but does have hdmi port not that that matters. If its not gigabit is there a way round it other than changing the card or replacing the laptop.

Help appreciated please to setup a gigabit network I'm new to all this.

Cheers. Matt

Mr Steve

Oct 24, 2007
Visit site
Just a caution before spending too much on switches, network cards & cables - also check up on the max readwrite speeds to the NAS (writing is normally the slowest operation). Offhand I don't know the specs of the Readynas, but often the actual read/write interface is your speed bottleneck, not your communication line.

Also bear in mind that you have a read operation going on at the laptop end (when you are copying/transfering/backing-up files) which also has speed constraints based on the laptops HDD read specs.

I found on my Synology DS 410 that as I added more HDDs to the RAID array - three of the four bays filled now- my speed of transferring data went up as the NAS could write to more than one of the drives at a time (but I have also upgraded to a gigabit switch and CAT5E cables throughout).

Steve

AnotherJoe

Jun 10, 2011
Visit site
For windows

Control panel -> System -> Device Manager

Expand network devices - you are looking for mention of gigabit/GBE or simliar.

Fast Ethernet would be 100Mbs.

scene