First Turntable decisions

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

Just started properly setting up my Hifi, at the moment I have a Marantz PM6004 and Monitor Audio BX2's which I'm very happy with. Now comes the time to find a turntable.

Rega/Project are always recomended but it seems hard to choose between their different ranges of budget turntables as they're all so praised there's little critical points on them.

I have the option of a:

Rega RP1/Ortofon OM5e for £229

Project Debut SE/Ortofon MO10 for £250

Project Debut Carbon/Ortofon 2M Red for £300

or a Rega P3-24/No Cart for £250

How easy would a cartridge be to fit myself on the Rega P3-24 as it seems to be most expensive of the lot generally (doesn't mean best obviously but I don't know what else to go ond), and could I get a cartridge for £50 to rival the Debut Carbon/Ortofon 2M package?

Thanks for any help, I'm new to this whole world of Hifi equipment and it's getting a bit confusing.

Captain Duff

Jul 26, 2012
Visit site
Each step up provides a slightly better arm/cartridge. A P3 is a good choice, but if you are then struggling for cash you could do a lot worse than fit a AT95e cartridge to it for a tad over £20, or maybe a Rega Bias for around £60. Cartridges are easy enough to fit, just be gentle when attching the 4 colour coded wires and mind out for the stylus. You can normally find a alignment grid/protractor online to download for free (some made specifically for Rega TT's) to help you align a cartridge before final tightening of the screws.