First separates system - any help!?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm looking to buy my first 'serious' hi-fi and would appreciate some advice. I'm looking to spend less than £700 if possible; however sound quality is very important to me. I am a guitarist and a valve amp (guitar and bass) enthusiast so I have a rather 'picky' ear. Currently I listen to a lot of acoustic/piano music if that helps in your suggestions, however I do still listen to some rock music.

I have been considering an integrated amplifier, CD player and floor-standing speakers as a start and would prefer to buy second-hand so I can get some better kit. Here are some queries!

1) Locally there is a Marantz PM7200 for sale and it's very likely I'll buy it unless someone can tell me a good reason not to. Is this a good amp for the money? Any idea what it's worth?

2) Can anyone suggest a CD player that will be well matched to this amp. I'm assuming the DAC is the most important part of CD players.

3) Speakers? I've been looking at Audio Energy Aegis Neo 3s. I can get some new for £200, however I understand that I should spend a good part of the budget on the speakers as they'll have a huge influence on the overall sound. Also, the speakers will probably be the last thing I'll upgrade in future.

4) Cables? I'm thinking as short as possible!

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Ben

A

Anonymous

Hi, Try to find a pm-7001 or the KI edition much better sound IMO, mordaunt short or monitor audio speakers are a good match for this amplifier however you will not be disappointed with aegis neo 3s.

A

Anonymous

Anyone else have any suggestions? I think that amp may be too expensive for me.

A

Anonymous

With a £700 budget, I'd look to spend at least £400 of it on the speakers, maybe even £500. You can get a decent integrated and CD player for £100 each or less, and just use whatever cables you can get cheap/free.
emotion-5.gif

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site