Entry Level amplifier

Mick-Myster

Aug 10, 2016
Visit site
Hi,

Thanks in advance for reading my first post. I'm just getting into vinyl after getting an Ion air LP turntable as a Christmas present.

I have since got a pair of Roth OLi RA2 bookshelf speakers to go with after reading some decent reviews for speakers of this price range.

All I need now is an amplifier. Could anyone recommend a decent entry level amp up to around 150 price mark. Or even some decent second hand ones I should keep my eye out for in the same price range?

Cheers,

Mick

spiny norman

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
MajorFubar said:
I'm sure whoever bought your Christmas present thought they were doing you a good deed, but the Ion Air really is a heap of steaming shite that will never sound good. The £150 you're going to blow on an amp would have been better expended on a turntable like a Project Elemental, while the £100 that bought your Ion Air would have bought any number of decent used amps easily good enough for both the Project and the Roths.

Sorry to be the bringer of bad tidings. But someone had to say it in order to manage your expectations when you finally plug everything up and say "what the f##k?".

Perhaps Mick-Myster should show this to the gift-giver: they may be so pleased they'll buy him an amplifier, too.

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
I'm sure whoever bought your Christmas present thought they were doing you a good deed, but the Ion Air really is a heap of steaming shite that will never sound good. The £150 you're going to blow on an amp would have been better expended on a turntable like a Project Elemental, while the £100 that bought your Ion Air would have bought any number of decent used amps easily good enough for both the Project and the Roths.

Sorry to be the bringer of bad tidings. But someone had to say it in order to manage your expectations when you finally plug everything up and say "what the f##k?".

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
spiny norman said: