Does anyone own a Project Expression 1.2?????

leftfield

Jun 13, 2008
Visit site
Hi

I have recently bought the above turntable from a seller on ebay, however it did not come with the user manual. I have looked online but can only find the manual for the Expresion III turntable. See link below:

http://www.project-audio.com/inhalt/en/manual/manual_xpression.pdf

Does anyone know whether the procedure for the setting up of the tone arm etc is the same for the Expression 1.2 as described in the manual for the Expression 3?

I have not owned a turntable for about 15yrs so have no idea how to set up.

Many thanks

leftfield

Jun 13, 2008
Visit site
Thanks recordspot, I have just printed the manual. The turntable looks in pretty good condition with one or two marks which were expected. It is fiited with a catridge with 510 written on it. This may seen like a dull question, but how can you tell if the cartridge and/or stylus need replacing? I am a complete vinyl novice!

Thanks

T

the record spot

Ortofon 510 - no experience with it, but you can buy a replacement sylus to fit onto the main cartridge, so, easy to replace. Needles and Spins, an online retailer to name but one, do them for about £45, but shop around. I'd be inclined to replace anyway, then at least you know what you're dealing with from new.

T

the record spot

Well, it's a matter of choice. I'm happy with the cartridge I have at present (listed below) but it's not everyone's cup of tea soundwise (bright, analytical, doesn't do "warm"). You'd be better asking a dealer about the Ortofon 510. Can I suggest Ian Harrison near Derby? He supplied my AT and I found him to be excellent - very happy to discuss options, etc., so he would be my first point of contact. He doesn't have a website, but you can get his number online I think. He may advertise in WHFS&V, but not sure; I rarely seek the dealer pages.