Distortion

Tisinthepark

Jan 9, 2017
Visit site
hi all,I’m getting some distortion through my speakers now when I walk past them or touch them any ideas this has just happened recently..............thanx as usual for any help.

Gray

...or too many radioactive bananas?

Can't think what might be causing your problem - but I look forward to reading people's theories.

If there was a loose connection somewhere that was sensitive enough to be responding to your touch or footfall, I would have thought that the music's vibration would be enough to cause constant distortion. Are you sure the distortion never happens when you're nowhere near?

You need a process of elimination. Start by trying one speaker at a time, then working back.

thescarletpronster

Nov 17, 2012
Visit site
What sort of distortion is it? A hum, or buzz? Or does the audio itself distort in some way? My first thought is that it might be an earthing issue. But I am no expert.

Tisinthepark said:
but it’s kinda a low vibration noise in the lower base notes of records I’ve checked all cables and they look fine.

Sounds awful like a problem I had when installing my new turntable. It's an earth fault. Basically you have too many earths in the system.

Have you added anything lately? Strange you have only just noticed it as it should have been immediately apparent.

Tisinthepark

Jan 9, 2017
Visit site
I’ve put cone feet that sit in the discs on my speakers around Xmas time I’ve just tried moving them out of the discs to see if that’s any better but it’s still the same, the cones are fixed on with really sticky pads that I really don’t want to take off but if the experts think it could be them then I will.

All my gear is on the same surface speakers amp and TT but it’s been that way for over a year now and not been an issue.

Gray

Tisinthepark said: