Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum and I am a newbie in terms of audio systems. I have a pair of B&O H6 headphones and I would like to improve their sound and the reason is just because I am curious to test a DAC. I would also like to get a pair of speakers for my desktop computer and possibly connect both speakers and headphones to the same DAC. I don't mind unplugging the headphones in order to connect the speakers and vice versa ( I am saying this because the last pair of speakers I had, the HK Soundsticks had a 3.5 jack to connect to the pc)

Now, what would be best suited for my needs? I don't quite understand if I need a DAC like the Dragonfly or an audio interface like the Focusrite 2i2 or even an amp like the Onkyo a9010. As for the price, I don't want to spend more than £200 for a DAC/interface or amp, whichever I need.

As for the speakers, I am not sure what the differences are. I quite like the clear sound of the H6 headphones, so I was thinking that maybe to have a similar sound I could get some monitors like the Yamaha HS7, but I was wondering if stereo speakers like the Q acoustics 3020 might be better, or even the Wharfedale DS-1. So yes, I don't quite know what I am talking about speakers wise and I have no idea what the difference between stereo and desktop speakers is.

Thank you very much to everyone, I know you will be able to solve my problems and clarify my doubts.

Vito

Hi there, will try to answer as best I can.

Audio interface vs. DAC - Audio interfaces contain both a DAC and an ADC. In other words they can be used for recording as well as listening. DAC are suitable for listening only. Both effectively replace the sound card in your computer. Audio interfaces are aimed at music production, and in general don't look as fancy as high end hi fi equipment, but can be excellent value. One notably cheap one which performs far better than it's price tag is the Behringer UCA-202, which at little over £20 is almost ridiculously good value.