Cyrus CD8se and the process of selecting it....

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I recently went through a process of auditioning Rega Apollo, Naim CD5i (non-italic), Roksan K2 CD player, Cyrus CD6se and then Cyrus CD8se recently through a Roksan K2 amp & MA RS6's (see my full set-up in my sig).

I auditioned a large range of music from Radiohead (In Rainbows), Bat For Lashes, Alela Diane, Pulp, Kings of Leon, UNKLE, Elbow, Vampire Weekend & a few more!

It was a very interesting & difficult process and one that I am very glad I did. I had been using the Naim CD5i (non-italic) for 6 months-ish and I enjoyed it but felt it wasn't giving me everything I wanted from the music, their was drive & rhythm with excellent timing but not huge amounts of depth to the music.
So tried a Rega Apollo and this gave an extra depth to instruments making them more 3d but still didn't have the attack i wanted.

Went to Sevenoaks to audition the K2 CD & CD6se through a K2 amp and MA GS20's.

Spent an hour listening to the CD6se's and revealed huge amounts of detail and more of the music but whilst I enjoyed hearing the new details I wasn't enjoying the music and was finding the treble hard (speaker related probably).

Moved onto the K2 CD player and felt it was a slight step back from the Cyrus, still a move on (for me) from the Naim & Rega but still not getting the satisfaction from the music I wanted. Not quite enough slam, emotion, attack & timing that I felt was still there in the music.

I mentioned this to the helpful sales guy and he suggested to try the CD8se.

From the first minute of Radiohead's Weird Fishes/Arpeggi and that was enough for me. It ticked all of the boxes of what I wanted & a whole lot more! It had the perfect balance for me of the revealing nature of the CD6se but making the music enjoyable and the musical nature of the Naim & Rega whilst adding its own dose of slam, attack and a sweet sweet treble!