connecting vintage equipment with newer parts

supersiv8

Dec 27, 2015
Visit site
Hello, I'm wondering if anyone here can help me as I'm new to all things hi-fi. I'm reading up on it but it's a little overwhelming at the moment.

Basically I'm trying to help my mother sort out her audio and tv setup at home, and I'm wondering if we can use her older hi-fi parts from the 80s to connect to the tv as well as purchasing a DAB radio to this at a later stage. (Maybe even a CD player and turntable if possible but this is not necessary for now.) Ideally without spending a lot of money on it, as long as we get all connected with acceptable sound quality for non-audiofiles…

She has a Thomson tv and from what I can see at the back there's a SCART, some audio input connections, HDMI and audio jack.

The vintage equipment is a pioneer amplifier SA-520 and AR-8 speakers.

Alternatively for speakers, we have a pair of JVC SP-D701 three-way ones at 80 watts and 6 ohms, with bare wire connections.

I suppose we need to buy a digital to analog converter, but I'm wondering which one and how to connect it?

Any other help and tips greatly appreciated.

spiny norman

Jan 14, 2009
Visit site
If the TV doesn't have an analogue audio output, you can usually get sound out of it using the Scart socket: you'll need an adapter like this:

41KZeZMcVAL._SY300_.jpg

Set it to output, connect normal stereo interconnects to the red and white sockets, and the other end of the interconnect cable to a spare input (AUX or whatever) on the amplifier. And no, you won't need a DAC.

For radio, just use the channels available on Freeview, with the TV as the 'tuner'. Otherwise you'll need to find a DAB tuner: there's no shortage on eBay, but you'd probably need a dedicated aerial for use with a hi-fi tuner (although you might be able to get away with using a splitter from the TV aerial).

supersiv8

Dec 27, 2015
Visit site