Classical music recommendations

Cricketbat70

Feb 2, 2023
Visit site
Hi all.

I'm looking for recommendations for classical music. Luke most people in the UK I've grown up with the odd piece of classical music used in TV commercials, films etc. I also have a CD that was my grandads, one of those freebies from a news paper, the best of Mozart.
My Seagate NAS drive came with 5 classical music tracks, the one I play most is The Blue Danube.
Last night I went to bed earphones in and started listening to Rachmaninoff on Spotify. After drifting off I woke to Rhapsody on a them of Paganini. That is now on my Spotify likes.
Has any one got recommendations for a complete novice to the world of classical music?

DCarmi

Ooh! Quite a big topic and I'll miss a lot!

Vivaldi - Four Seasons - an old (literally) standard
Bach - Cello suites, Brandenburg Concertos and loads more
Beethoven - Symphonies 3,5,6, 9 (and most of the rest), Violin concerto, Piano Concerto #5
Elgar - Enigma variations (you will know this by osmosis)
Holst - Planets
Tchaikovsky - Symphonies 4,5,6, Swan lake, 1812 Overture, Piano Concerto #1
Rimsky-Korsakov - Scheherazade
Stravinsky - Firebird - more modern and discordant but totally thrilling
Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique
Dvorak - New World Symphony
Sibelius - Any symphony, Finlandia
Mendelssohn - Violin concerto (often paired with Bruch Violin Concerto)
Mahler - Symphony #5
Shostakovich - Symphony #5 (and #10) - More modern stuff. (Also his Jazz Suites)
Mozart - Loads but try Piano Concerto #21 Elvira Madigan, Symphonies 40 and 41

On Spotify search for the recording of:
Baroque Masterpieces by Neville Marriner, which has a good selection of stuff you might like.

As a beginner, I'd pick from the list
Vivaldi 4 seasons,
Beethoven Symphonies 5 and 6
Dvorak New world Symphony
Stravinsky Firebird
and the Baroque Masterpieces by Marriner.

You'll recognise bits of all of them, which is probably the hook you need.

Cricketbat70

Feb 2, 2023
Visit site