Question Chorus 706 Amplifier Match Question

bseej

Feb 11, 2020
Visit site
Hi all,

Newbie here. I will not bore you with my long term history with audio components (mostly NAD and Castle). Lately I have been up (or maybe down) grading my equipment. I run a 2.0 system. I first bought a Yamaha RX-V481 (5.1), which was nice but needed a factory reset every week or so to sound it's best (a pain to re-program that often). I recently purchased some Focal Chorus 706 speakers which sound amazing (when the Yamaha is at its best). So, I replaced the V481 with a Marantz NR1200. Again, sounds good, but, as with the Yamaha, it struggles (which isn't surprising, since it is 75wpc instead of 80wpc). By struggles, I mean some distortion at higher volumes (mostly high frequencies, but really anything complex).

So here is/are the questions:

1) Power amp? Speakers rated to 25-120w (if that is realistic), a 250-300w amp?

2) Sub? to take some stress off the 55hz-28khz speakers?

3) Get rid of it all and by a clock radio with bluetooth?

Most music is streamed through a Late 2013 Mac Mini (I have used optical, a Firefly and Heos (on the NR1200, uPnP on the V481)) using Audirvana.

Musical tastes: Classical, Acoustic, Bluegrass, World, Classic Rock.

Any advice is welcome.

Regards

Last edited:

chris661

Oct 30, 2019
Visit site
There'll be no audible difference between a 75 and 80-watt amplifier run up to clipping.

If there's distortion when the music gets complex, that suggests to me that the drivers themselves are struggling, and you're hearing inter-modulation distortion etc.

If you're near Sheffield, I can bring a measurement mic round and see what's going on.

Chris

bseej

Feb 11, 2020
Visit site
There'll be no audible difference between a 75 and 80-watt amplifier run up to clipping.

If there's distortion when the music gets complex, that suggests to me that the drivers themselves are struggling, and you're hearing inter-modulation distortion etc.