Canton DM50 - Volume fault?

Nov 3, 2014
Visit site
Just picked up the DM50. I've no experience whatsoever of sound bars/bases or home cinema, but it sounds amazing. However, I've had it just over a week and on three occasions the volume has started going up of it's own accord, until you actively turn it down. (And, no - I wasn't sitting on the remote!)

Every so often the volume also flashes up, as if it's being pressed.

Anyone else experienced this?

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
Hi Neal,

Glad you're enjoying the DM50 despite this odd behaviour! I'll forward this onto Canton for comment.

I have one thought/question in meantime... The Canton soundbases are designed to 'learn' commands from other remote controls - so you can move to using a single remote for your TV and soundbase. Is there a possibility other remotes were being used at the same time, which the Canton picked up as a command?

Nov 3, 2014
Visit site
Hi Clare, thanks for getting back to me.

No, there were not any other remotes being used at the time.

I've already tried using my Sony TV remote to operate the volume, but that isn't working properly either. On the TV remote, I can turn the volume down, but not up. I've tried resetting it several times but it makes no difference.

Any thoughts? Is there anyway of resetting the system? Is the volume going up automatically a fixable fault?

Cheers

Neal

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
OK, Canton have been unable to replicate this issue, or find other reports, so you may have a faulty unit. We suggest you return it to your retailer and exchange it for a new one. Check they have stock first; should be a simple swap out.

candlestrobe

Dec 16, 2014
Visit site