Best media player streaming UPnP from NAS for downloaded files like .mkv / .avi etc..

BigColz

Jun 18, 2012
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm new to all this streaming malarky.. I'm basically using an external harddrive for all my music into my music streamer and I love it! The third bedroom in my house and will become my Listening/Movie/xBox room :grin: in a couple months and in that time i plan to save some dollar and get a serious NAS setup going.. I will have a mac mini in my bedroom where the downloading and file tidying etc on the NAS will take place and plan on rigging my whole house with CAT5..

I just want to know what is a great movie streamer that accepts as many formats as possible (pref as many as my mac does with 'perian' for quicktime) and good with picture quality and HD recordings.. This will be for the 2nd bedroom, living room and listening room.. I really only need it to play movies but if it does music too and if it has a iPhone/pod/pad app that can control it that would be even better.. I know sonos is good for music but just seems crazy expensive to me for what it is and would only do half the job.. I may get a Blu Ray player in the Listening/movie room to exploit proper 1080p but thats a maybe.. So good Blu-ray players that support many formats would be helpfull too

Any advise would be much much appreciated..

Sorry for rambling.. Cheers :cheers:

I would recommend Boxee box. Plays all media, imports metadata from IMDB for beautiful artwork & is also AirPlay compatible, if you want to stream videos or music from your iThingy directly.

What's your budget for the blu ray player? What's the rest of your AV system like?

A

Anonymous