Hey All!

Newbie here. Just put the deposit down on a place with my Girlfriend and our first priority (naturally) is to secure the best hi-fi system we can for the budget!

New to the Hi-Fi game so looking for all the advice I can get :) We are looking for a complete system with a budget of ideally less than £2k (but with a push upto 2.5 if there is going to be a considerable benefit).

I'll try to answer some of the common questions I've seen after browsing the forums (quite a bit) but happy to provide any more info which helps us find the best system!

So the question is - with the below specs and budget - what is the best system we can get?

The Music
We love our bassy music - drum & bass, tech house & the odd bit of techno - while also a lot of the time keeping things a bit more chilled with more "lounge beats/hip-hop" styled music - think blockhead, bonobo etc. Other ends of the spectrum would include anything from the broad "experimental electronic" outfit (any ninja tune, hidden orchestra, amon tobin etc) to other contemporary areas. Not looking for a tearing bassy system but one which will complement these different styles with a solid bass.

The Space
The main room where music will be played and listened to is a 35sqm room with double-height ceiling. The back of this room leads (half open plan) into separate kitchen and dining rooms. Above these spaces is an open mezzanine (hence the double height ceiling). The floors are all wooden.

The Source
We mostly stream digital music (more often than not via Spotify). I can't forsee any near future plans to have turntables or any other analogue source.