B&W 684 speakers with RA-06 SE or ROTEL 1520

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Im new to hi fi......I've auditioned the B&W 684s and RA-06 SE and really liked the pairing.

As I am unlikely to be in a position to audition the 1520 at my local dealers.

1) Can someone advise if its worth choosing the 1520 for the extra money given that I was quite impressed with the RA-06 SE?

2) Also I would appreciate any opinions on Naim Nait 5i or Roksan Kandy K2 paired with the 684s

Thanks in advance

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
I'd go with the RA1520.

I've never felt that B&W and Naim go together very well, so Roksan would be the better bet of the two. Whether you'd prefer this or the Rotel is personal preference.

DFX:
Im new to hi fi......I've auditioned the B&W 684s and RA-06 SE and really liked the pairing.

As I am unlikely to be in a position to audition the 1520 at my local dealers.

1) Can someone advise if its worth choosing the 1520 for the extra money given that I was quite impressed with the RA-06 SE?

2) Also I would appreciate any opinions on Naim Nait 5i or Roksan Kandy K2 paired with the 684s

Thanks in advance

Hi DFX

If you've got mind set on Rotel then also consider their RA-1062. The RA-1062 is a cracking amp and i also feel is the finest amp they've produced in the last ten years. Better still you could even pick a good used one for around £300-£350.

Other then this the Nait 5i is a better bet as i feel the K2 can sound a bit too heavy with 6 series speakers.

All the best

Rick @ Musicraft

Nas88

Nov 24, 2010
Visit site
Thought I'd bring this topic back to life rather than starting a new one.