angelmf2704

Nov 15, 2020
Visit site
Hello, I've been experimenting music and equipment for about 18 months. I have tested some headphones, dacs and budget speakers. Recently I purchased my first USB DAC (Hiby FC1), a budget but great option. I have used Sony's WH-1000XM3 for travelling and some casual use, don't criticize me nobody never advice about dedicated headphones for music. So I sold them and bought a new pair of Sennheiser HD560s. As my streaming service I use Tidal through the desktop app and Hiby Music. My first test with the bundle (DAC, Tidal and HD 560s) was very confusing. Some recordings that were bad mastered sounded worse and other tracks sounded more detail and like I was in the studio (like a live version). I have some questions

1.¿The sound coming out of my HD560s is correct without any technical failure?
2. ¿Music should sound like that'? ¿like a live version?
3.¿What can I do about bad mastered albums?
4. ¿Should I worry about MQA or just choose CD quality?
I'm very new to this topic.
Regards

DCarmi

1, Define correct. HD560S are fairly neutral which you could say is "correct", but others may disagree. Could you improve sound quality? Definitely, but what budget do you set?
2. I've been to quite a few gigs and heard some good sounding ones and some were just terrible . Comparing a studio album to a live concert is (IMHO), not overly useful. Even comparing a live album to a live concert is unhelpful because you need to factor in the recording equipment and the engineer. Again I have heard some poor live albums, from concerts I was at.
3. Not a lot, really! Tends to follow the "garbage in, garbage out" rule. The tendency to ramp up the recording levels, is an abomination.
4. In my opinion no need to worry. I'd expect only a limited number of people could reliably tell the difference in a blind test. I know I could not, with my aging ears.