ATC SCM11 or EB Acoustics EB1 ?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi to all,

I am very new to the hi-fi world and I would like some advise from the experts please! I recently bought my first hi-fi amplifier, a Marantz pm7001 KI, as it was a burgain on ebay. I am carefully considering a pair of speakers to buy (bi-wire with Qed 15£/m and banana plugs), I am between the ATC SCM11 or the EB Acoustics EB1. What I find as a disadvantage for the ATCs is that they need loads of watts to really come to life. As the Marantz has 2x70 wpc, seems that the ATCs will not be a good match? In the video "How to System match your Hi-Fi" from www.whathifi.com/video I was very surprised to see that the Roksan Kandy K2 is an ideal match for the ATCs! I am wondering how an amplifier with 2x125 wpc can be ideal for such a watts-hungry speaker? All in all, is a pair ot ATC SCM11 an out of league speaker for the Marantz pm7001 KI? Are EB1s a good match?

Thank you

JoelSim

Aug 24, 2007
Visit site
biomelody:
Hi to all,

I am very new to the hi-fi world and I would like someÿadvise from the experts please! I recently bought my first hi-fi amplifier, a Marantz pm7001 KI, as it was a burgain on ebay. I am carefully considering a pair of speakers to buy (bi-wire with Qed 15£/m and banana plugs), I am between the ATC SCM11ÿor the EB Acoustics EB1. What I find as a disadvantage for the ATCs is that they need loads of watts to really come to life. As the Marantz has 2x70 wpc, seems that the ATCs will not be a good match? In the video "How to System match your Hi-Fi" from www.whathifi.com/video I was very surprised to see that the Roksan Kandy K2 is an ideal match for the ATCs! I am wondering how an amplifier with 2x125 wpc can be ideal for such a watts-hungry speaker? All in all, is a pair ot ATC SCM11 an out of league speaker for the Marantz pm7001 KI?ÿAre EB1s aÿgood match?

ÿThank you