Amp requirements for novice set up

danielhall360

Dec 20, 2013
Visit site
Hi everybody,

I'm new to Hi-Fi and have just bought a Rega RP1. I'm planning to run it into a pair of Adam A7X active studio monitors. I know they're first and foremost monitors, and not necessarily designed for listening, but I can't afford decent speakers and a seperate amp right now.

My main question then is since the speakers are active, am I right to think that I don't need an amp but do require a preamp?

I've checked out the reviews and recommendations on this site, but if I do need a preamp does anyone have any favourites that they think will work well in this setup for £300 or less?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Dan

davedotco

Apr 24, 2013
Visit site
danielhall360 said:
Hi everybody,

I'm new to Hi-Fi and have just bought a Rega RP1. I'm planning to run it into a pair of Adam A7X active studio monitors. I know they're first and foremost monitors, and not necessarily designed for listening, but I can't afford decent speakers and a seperate amp right now.

My main question then is since the speakers are active, am I right to think that I don't need an amp but do require a preamp?

I've checked out the reviews and recommendations on this site, but if I do need a preamp does anyone have any favourites that they think will work well in this setup for £300 or less?

Thanks a lot in advance,

Dan

Do you have any kind of level control with your A7x? (other than the one on the front panel that is)

If not then you have a problem. There are loads of decent inexpensive phono stages available but they all have fixed outputs, those within your budget anyway. You can combine a £100 odd ProJect Phono Box S with a simple active or passive preamp, but really not very elegant.

Maybe one of the budget integrated amps that are so commonly endorsed on this forum will do the job? One with phono stage and pre-amp outputs obviously.