Advice on streaming & multi-room

jamesacraig69

May 3, 2016
Visit site
Hi everyone. I'd appreciate some advice on adding streaming and multi-room capability into an existing hi-fi set-up. Sorry if the questions are a bit basic but I'm new to the world of streaming.

I have a valve amp (Primaluna Prologue 1) with various analogue audio inputs and only speaker outputs, a Njoe Tjoeb CD player (basically a breathed-on basic Marantz amp from around the year 2000 with analague and digital outputs) and often play from an iPod connected via RCA cable to the amp, plus speakers.

I would like to play streamed content (e.g. Spotify, music files from a PC on the home network and possibly a smartphone or two) to through my current amp & speaker set-up and also add in multi-room - up to 2 wireless speakers - fed from both the current CD-player and iPod as well as the streamed content. My budget is up to around £400 for a network player/streamer and £200 per multi-room speaker. Sound quality is important but I don't want to break the bank.

I've looked at the Sonos Connect but am not sure it could handle direct inputs from the iPod and CD player - I'd presumably need a streamer with a built-in amp if I can't connect to my exisiting amp? Any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

The Sonos connect would do the trick with the added advantage of being able to choose from 3 different wireless speakers for the rest of the house. the connect does sound good but it doesn't put an end to the hifi streaming discussion and it doesn't play Hirez content. If you want better in the smae concept bluesound handle hirez content and the technology works the same way except that they don't have a mesh network like sonos. They're also more expensive. The bluesound Node 2 will connect to your amplifer and you can choose between their 2 or 3 wireless speakers. Hope this helps.

visionary

Apr 4, 2008
Visit site
Hi James