685 S2 setup for Heavy Metal

Hi,

After spending more then 100 hours watching videos in youtube and reading all forums, I decided that I want the 685 s2 + B&W 8' sub 200W to be apart of my setup. (I dont have time to go to the store and listen to them because I will return to my home country in August)

Now it comes the hard part for me , I am a huge heavy metal fan (Metallica, Iron Maiden, Slayer, Black Sabbath..etc) and I need to choose the best amp to match my 685 s2 and sub.

I've listed some of the amps that I have tought to be the best ones

-Denon PM1520ae

-Marantz PM-8005

-Peachtree Nova 125se

I really would like to know which one would be better for Heavy Metal and would be the best match with my B&W setup! Im not an expert on it, so it would be really nice to hear your opnions!

Thanks in advance for everything!!

Hi Pedro and welcome to the forum...I'm sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings but to be honest manufacturers don't make electronics and speakers to be exceptionally good at one genre.....you really must get out and listen to some of the products on your list.Also most metal (from the 80's)isn't of the greatest production and is going to sound a bit thin....Iron Maiden is one of those ime..I am fond of some metal....Metallica,sabbath,even have been known to shake my head to a bit of machine head.lol,and all I can really say is that most of my albums has sounded better as I have moved up the ladder of upgrades.I don't really rate the b&w 685's 2's and think you'd be better looking at some used cm5's or new cm1's2,if you plan on using a sub(check out the bk Gemini mk2,you can save some cash),and get the best amp you can afford,the marantz pm8005 would /should be a good contender . I'd love to give more input but I really must get to work.lol.I'm sure others have plenty of ideas.

thewinelake.

Jan 22, 2016
Visit site
Are you saying you already have the speakers?