40 inch LCD dilemma - Sony 40EX503 or ...

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am new to this and hoping somebody can help. I am currently living in Canada, but moving back to the UK very soon.

I will be buying a new LCD and can't choose between the 40 inch Sony EX503 or the 42 inch Phillips 7404. Network capabilities are not important, I just want a stonking picture, and sufficient extras to be able to play DivX via USB. Prices are fairly similar, the sound is not too important as this will be rigged up to a seperate sound system. Not sure if I have missed any potential contenders?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Iain Farr , Vancouver (soon to be UK)!

A

Anonymous

Iain Farr:I am new to this and hoping somebody can help. I am currently living in Canada, but moving back to the UK very soon.

I will be buying a new LCD and can't choose between the 40 inch Sony EX503 or the 42 inch Phillips 7404. Network capabilities are not important, I just want a stonking picture, and sufficient extras to be able to play DivX via USB. Prices are fairly similar, the sound is not too important as this will be rigged up to a seperate sound system. Not sure if I have missed any potential contenders?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Iain Farr , Vancouver (soon to be UK)!

Hi Iain

Hope this helps. I have just taken delivery of the Sony EX503 and have to say having spent a couple of hours setting it up, the picture is as good as anything I have seen anywhere, including the 9000 series Phillips.

A

Anonymous

Thanks for that, my issues is that the Phillips is a liitle cheaper and a little bigger, I don't know if I will be paying too much more when all that really matters is the picture quality and Divx playback.

Do you find any backlight inconsistency? Also, how have you found the motion blur on sporting action?

Sorry to ask too many questions, but do you know of any others I should be considering?

Thanks,

Iain Farr

A

Anonymous

Iain Farr: