20 years in the making - my Cyrus/Arcam/Mission system

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
My dad used to have a great B&O system at home when I was growing up and I saved up my pennies from my paper round to buy an Ariston Q deck from Acoustic Arts in Watford, which opened up just a few doors down from where we lived. Around about the same time I stafted reading What Hi Fi and over the years have followed the reviews and enjoyed some great kit. As a student I saved up for the Rotel RCD 965BX back in the days when CD was relatively new and the debate about bitstream vs multibit was raging. Added a DPA PDM1 series 2 and was in hi fi heaven. Fell for a Sony CDP 3000ES and then for the Micromega Stage 4 which served in my main system until just last year when I could not resist the tempatation to buy the Cyrus CD8 SE.

I had a Roksan Caspian amp for a while but never warmed to it (it was an early model) and swapped it out for a multi channel Yamaha and bobby basic Toshiba DVD as my attention turned towards home cinema. I moved on to an Arcam AVR300, loved it so much that I eventually went for an Arcam AV9/P7 which I don't plan on changing any time soon.

4508683437_7908362ba8_m.jpg

My £25 second hand Sony speakers were replaced by Mission 733i's which served me well for many years and were eventually replaced by 782s. Then I upgraded to the excellent 782SE's (Wow, enjoyment reached a whole new level) and eventually added the 780SE's as rears and got the matching centre. Subwoofer came later, when I picked up a Mission E8AS1. Then I was seduced by the awesome sound of the Mission Elegante range and swapped for the E83's/E81's/E8C & E8AS2 (not widely reviewed, but absolutely amazing).