Would be grateful for any help - complete novice here :)

frazzle515

Mar 18, 2014
Visit site
Hi everyone,

As the title suggest, I know very little about the mechanics, jargon and the sheer variety of sound systems out there. I do however have a huge passion for music (particularly Genesis... I know some people don't want to help me now haha!)

My proudest possessions are the SACD Genesis boxsets complete with 2.1 and 5.1 mixes. They sound great on my old speakers but I'm desperate to hear their true potential. Problem is, I have no idea where to begin. I would love to hear the 5.1 mixes but would also like to use the speakers/system to play 2.1 for all my other CDs and SACDs.

I obviously need something to play the SACDs/CDs and the speakers themselves. Is there anything else I need? I obviously have a budget in mind but I also want the best possible sound and willing to go fairly high without whincing too much :)

Again, I know nothing... so if you are kind enough to reply, please keep it simple :D

Thank you in advance, would really appreciate any help.

Cheers,

Fraser

Nothing wrong with a bit of Genesis, just a very litle bit you understand. :)

Sounds like you are going to need a 'home cinema ' system of some sort. Basically an AV amplifier with speaker package and a blu-ray player capable of handling SACD playback. (Sony's are good for this but there are others).

How much is your budget as a matter of interest?

There are other options if you are satisfied purely with 2.1 speakers rather than 5.1

OldHand

Mar 18, 2014
Visit site