Wiring up a Denon all in one system?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all, I'm not very technical when it comes to "home cinema" and wondered if you could help.

I had already pre-wired a Denon DHT 500SD in my kitchen and have just purchased a Panasonic TH37PX80.

My brother in law tells me that to get surround sound for TV as well as DVD I would have to get a freeview box even though the TV has it built in.

This I did but I'm surprised that I would have to do this.

Is he correct or can I wire up the system without the need for a separate freeview box?

Any advice?

John Duncan

Ought to be fine - you'll need to take the audio out from the Panasonic into the receiver, and you'll be limited to prologic - but then not many freeview receivers I can think of have a digital out yet, and AFAIK there aren't any freeview channels doing dolby 5.1 anyway, though I could be wrong.

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
JohnDuncan:Ought to be fine - you'll need to take the audio out from the Panasonic into the receiver, and you'll be limited to prologic - but then not many freeview receivers I can think of have a digital out yet, and AFAIK there aren't any freeview channels doing dolby 5.1 anyway, though I could be wrong.

Yeah, what John said.

Don't know the spec of your TV, so you have two options. If your TV has a digital out (and your Denon a digital 'in' of course), Connect the two together. If your TV does not have a digital output (Or as before, if your Denon does not have a digital 'in') you'll need a standard pair of interconnects to go from the red/white sockets on the back of the TV, to a suitable input on the Denon.

A

Anonymous

Thanks to both of you for your replies but I really am a numpty when it comes to this subject and reading manuals doesn't seem to help me much.

I'm going to be cheeky here if you don't mind :D

Here are 2 sites regarding each products spec.

http://www.fixya.com/support/p42125-denon_dht500sd_system/manual-18286