Wireless speakers, should i upgrade?

lee92h

Mar 6, 2013
Visit site
Hey, im new to the whole hifi game and though i have researched alot theres to much to take in.

so im thinking about upgrading my speakers but would like some advice,

currently using a hitahci axm910 micro hifi system which i got for free and can be seen here http://www.reevoo.com/p/hitachi-axm910

and im simply pluging in my iphone or laptop (itunes) via the headphone jack cable going to the hifi, now im no audiophile but ive been getting a bit more into my music and would like a wireless connection but wasnt sure if i should take the leap and buy a decent start up at the same time but i would like to justify my purchase as i hate letting money go.

so music on itunes is mp3 (lossy) with about 1/3 ripped at 320, 1/3 at 25 and 1/3 and 128 so not exatcly the highest quality format out there, now i could buy a airport express and stream via airplay from either device to that system or was looking at buying a new system and narrowed it down to the pm6004 + monitor bx2 which i can get at £450 and again stream via airport. http://www.audiblefidelity.co.uk/Marantz_PM6004_Monitor_Audio_BX2_Speakers_p/hifipack-01.htm

now how much of a leap is this? is the sound quality difference going to jusity an extra £450 on top of the £80 for the airport express, am i going to notice a better sound with this system with the mp3s at those rates through airplay? like i said, i like high quality but do not seek perfection, as i see alot of talk about using a dac as the airport express has lower quality conversion chip, but an extra £200 is simply to much and surely the speaks and amp are enough for a starter set up.