Windows Pro Insider Preview

Dom

I'm doing it for fun - Edge browser works better, Windows icons improved, buttons re-arranged, Cortana improvements. It's way better than the vanilla 10 Pro.

Alas sound department has been neglected.

Edit - Thanks for the bug list, thankfully non of those affect me.

MajorFubar

Mar 3, 2010
Visit site
DomCheetham said:
Alas sound department has been neglected.

At least it now has core audio (I think?), since Windows 8. One of my biggest uses for a computer at home is music creation and I left Windows some time ago (2011) because of horrible latency issues that I couldn't ever properly get rid of, even with third party ASIO drivers. But that was Win XP and Win 7. I understand [from reading other forums] that the current Windows is (finally) much improved in that department, but I have no personal experience of it.

Dom

I heard good things about Core Audio Eg USB audio class 2.0. Thats not to say Direct Sound is bad, its not.

I think I have solved the laggy start menu, its down to Cortana'a location feature. It helps with ordering pizza and other stuff. I disabled it.

My computer is also for gaming, but I gone off gaming really. Its still not enough for me to change to Mac OS sadly.

Dom

Edge browser video playback in iPlayer seems to judder every second. Going back to IE browser seems to solve it.

Video looks different in either browser, Edge has a crisp look whilst IE has slight blur to it.

Still cannot open Google or YouTube, contacting BT about it.

Dom

bigboss said:
You can download Chrome browser, for Google and YouTube.

Thank you bigboss, have not yet jumped on the third party browsers yet. Although I was looking at Opera browser, especially its enhanced battery life support. It does not apply to me however since I'm plugged in. I will contact BT first about this.

Dom