What does a DAC do?

tommyb

Jan 12, 2008
Visit site
I'm sorry for the totally basic question, but I was wondering what a DAC does?

I've been reading a lot about the Beresford DAC and how good it is, but I'm not totally sure about it's function.
emotion-43.gif

Secondly, where can you get them - Is the Stanley Beresford site via Ebay?

Finally, my Onkyo 875 and Quad L-ite's are arriving this week. I have a Sony Vaio PCV RZ504 that runs Giga Pocket Software and I also use I-tunes. Do I need a DAC?

Again, soory for the level of my question - total beginner!

emotion-3.gif

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
Digital to analogue converter - converts digital data into analogue audio.

No you don't need one - there are DACs built into your receiver and PC.

A

Anonymous

A DAC converts the digital signal (1001010100 for example) to an analogue signal. Dac means Digital Analogue converter. Almost all cd and dvd players have one as does almost every computer.
Why then a separate DAC you ask? Well, that's because with budget and mid-priced kit there's usually room for improvement.[quote user="tommyb"]
Secondly, where can you get them - Is the Stanley Beresford site via Ebay?

[/quote]
Copy this link: http://www.homehifi.co.uk/main/main.html[quote user="tommyb"]
Finally, my Onkyo 875 and Quad L-ite's are arriving this week. I have a Sony Vaio PCV RZ504 that runs Giga Pocket Software and I also use I-tunes. Do I need a DAC?

[/quote]