Tweeter hight to ear level

yani

Jan 16, 2015
Visit site
As my previous posts have stated I an hoping to get a pair of KEF R300's for home demo. I know that when they sit on 24" stands the tweeter will be just about the right height for my ear position. This is when I am lazily slumbered on my comfy big chair with feet up on foot stool (drink in hand). So in theory ear and tweeter will be just the perfect height.

Well my question is, what if I had decided on the KEF R500's. I am only going by the photos but being a design engineer I have drawn up both speaker cabinet fronts and tried to position the tweeter drivers from the photos. On doing this I see the tweeter on the R500 sits approx 150 to 180mm below the R300's (when on 24" stands).

Would that I wonder make the tweeters too low on the 500's in my room / seating set up ?

Hope I am explaining this well enough !!

Thompsonuxb

Feb 19, 2012
Visit site
The height of the tweeters is not that important.

What is is how the sound integrates as a whole from the speaker.

Get the distance right between speakers and the speakers should 'vanish' - just make sure nothing inbetween you and your speakers blocks or impedes the sound.

For the record my speakers are 80cm tall with the tweeter below the mid-range.

Tilted slightly back I have no issues.

yani

Jan 16, 2015
Visit site
Why is tweeter height with regards ear level mentioned so much both here and on different forums. I understand distance between speakers and also distance from listener to speaker is important.

Thompsonuxb

Feb 19, 2012
Visit site
Lol.... I don't know.

But in my experience it's not important.

The main body of the 'top end' comes from the midrange - the tweeter adds the tip.

I think it has something to so with the term 'top end'

Note alot of modern designs place the tweeter below the middriver..

dim_span

Dec 30, 2014
Visit site