Turntable upgrade?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm a hifi/vinyl newbie but have some second hand vinyl (120 LPs or so, plus singles) which I love listening to. At the moment I play it on an old Hitachi HT-6M, with an Audio Technica AT-95E cartridge. I also have an old Pioneer PL-112D with an Ortofon Pro cart.

I don't really know much about turntables, but the Hitachi sounds better despite having a much cheaper-looking tonearm (black plastic and straight) than the Pioneer (metal and curved). I also prefer the Hitachi because it's more automatic (the Pioneer is fully manual).

Can anyone talk to me about which is better and why? And how I might upgrade? Are these pretty rubbish turntables and I should consider getting a new one, or is there some way I could upgrade one of these?

Thanks for any input!

A

Anonymous

Well... "S" arm versus straight arm... I won't even get into that. Suffice to say you should chuck them both. I have a similar hitachi that I keep for sentimental reasons (in the closet). How much can you throw at this?

Incidentally those tables are both probably none-too-good for your records, and you're not going to find any automatic tables on the market for the same reason. They have a bad habit of scratching records.

A

Anonymous

So it sounds like these are both very bad turntables. Is it because it's automatic that the Hitachi is bad? What's wrong with them generally? Just outdated? Why do you think they will damage the records?

480 seems slightly out of my budget, I was wondering whether there was a turntable under around 200. I saw the Pro-Ject one that won the award in that range this year -- would this be significantly better than the Hitachi turntable?

If I did spring for that Roksan, would it really improve my current setup? Or would it be pointless without upgrading the whole lot, which I can't do at the moment?

JoelSim

Aug 24, 2007
Visit site