TURNTABLE SYSTEM: ANY HELP ?

hamdib

Jul 7, 2009
Visit site
I am a beginner and would like to built a turntable system. My budget is tight, (around £1000 in total for turntable+phono amp+amplifier+speakers) Also I want my amplifier to be as lexible as possible so that I can connect my iPod dock, too (many connections). I dont have big rooms but into good vibrant & punchy bass lines. I am after best starter kit which I can invest more for future improvements.

Thanks for your help.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
Rega P2 + Bias 2 cartridge (factory pre-fitted and aligned) = £294

Rega Brio3 amplifier = £322

No phono-stage necessary as the Rega Brio 3 has a good one built in.

That leaves £384 (I think)

So go here and buy a nice pair of Rega R3 floorstanders for £349 + £20 delivery whilst the seller still has them.

That leaves you £15 for a funky Rega P2/P3 felt mat in the colour of your choice
emotion-2.gif

Job done.

hamdib

Jul 7, 2009
Visit site
Thanks for this very illuminating reply, it seems that you quite like Rega systems, could you tell me more about Rega, their built quality, their future flexibility ?

gbhsi1

Mar 5, 2008
Visit site
I suggest going down to a local hi-fi shop if you have one & audition various turntables etc. You will be a lot happier when making your decision.

A

Anonymous

I have a second (vinyl ) system upstairs which is absolutely brilliant. Rega P3-24 plus power supply and Dynavector DV10x5 cartridge, Rotel RA02 amp and Revolver RW16 speakers. The TT part of this is a bit pricey, especially the cartridge, a high output moving-coil which works great into the phono stage of the Rotel. This Rotel was replaced by the RA05 - superb amp, better IMHO than the higher powered RA03/RA06. Speakers a persoonal choice.