Turntable & speakers setup - I need help!

noworke

Dec 4, 2013
Visit site
I'm a complete newbie to the world of vinyl, turntables, amps and speakers and after having spent hours on Google, I have to say, I'm absolutely lost to what the best set up would be... I would appreciate any piece of advice on the following points.

MY POTENTIAL SETUP: I really would like to go for a Project TT. Either the Essential II or the Debut Carbon. Not sure I understand the £100 price difference. I suppose it's a mix of better cartridge, better materials, etc. But do you think it is really worth it? I'm planning on keeping it for a few years so I want to make the best investment.

Now the tricky bit. I don't have a pre-amp. So should I get the phono/usb version of the TT? It's about £60-80 more and in the case of the Debut Carbon, it only comes with the OM10 cartridge, not the 2M red. There's a bunch of questions that go with that last point, especially given my 'speaker situation'. I'm planning on using, at first, my old JBL Creature computer speakers. I know it's a shame to use a good TT with such crap speakers - 1 sub + 2 small satellites - but I'm planning on upgrading these with a proper set (and a proper amp) in a year or so. But for now, these will have to do. Plus, they come with an integrated amp which means I don't have to buy a pricey amp right now.

But how exactly will I connect the JBL Creature speakers to the phono/usb TT or separate pre-amp given that the only cable that goes with these speakers ends up with a 3.5mm jack? From what I can see on the Project website, this jack doesn't fit anywhere on the phono/usb TT or on the separate pre-amp. A Project sales rep told me it was possible but how exactly? Do I need to buy an extra cable?