Trying to improve my music listening experience... And ofc, on a budget :/

d0sk3y

Oct 29, 2013
Visit site
Hello everyone :)

I'm trying to find a way to make the most of my audio CDs and vinyls, while still on a pretty tight budget.

I currently own the following:

- Technics SU-V500 amp (bad, i know), which I will gladly get rid of for a not-too-pricey amp (maybe a Pioneer A-717MK2 ?)

- Technics SL-PG370A Cd-player (also bad, I know) - this one I will also gladly get rid of, should someone be able to give me some good advice on a good-value budget CD-player - maybe Pioneer? I would like to have them all matching, brand-wise

- A Pioneer PL-335 TT, just got this one, it has an AT cartridge, it sounds pretty good for the 70 bucks I paid for it - I'm still a vinyl newbie. The spin speed is alright, it doesn't have any problems

- A pair of Pioneer HPM-700 Speakers (a spinoff of the HPM-100), mint condition (original speakers/drivers) - These I would definitely keep, I have heard them on a Pioneer C90 + M90, they were really great! Maybe mod the crossovers?

I would kindly ask anyone willing to give me some advice as to how I could alter/change my setup in order to get a good budget sound to make some recommendations regarding what to buy and how to combine them (incl. a good cartridge for the TT). The main reason I'm willing to invest is the vinyl issue, just bought a "truckload" of vinyls from Germany (nice old-school rock albums ftw!)

Thank you very much for any advice.

Best,

d0sk3y

Oct 29, 2013
Visit site
Hello! Well, 200 quid-ish sounds pretty good.. Any specific amp/pre combo come to mind?

Also, are the HPMs worth keeping?

namefail

Jul 31, 2013
Visit site
d0sk3y said:
Hello! Well, 200 quid-ish sounds pretty good.. Any specific amp/pre combo come to mind?

Also, are the HPMs worth keeping?

Are these your speakers? If so they look Awesome. http://www.hifiwigwam.com/showthread.php?70021-Pioneer-HPM-700-refurb-%96-all-done!