System set up with Sony BDP-S760

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have just purchased the the Sony BDP-S760 and added it to my set up. However, I had difficulty in getting it to work with a HDMI cable and in the end had to resort to using components and optical to get the system working.

My set consists of a Panasonic 37PV500B Tv, Yamaha RX-V1600 Receiver and Sky+.

My set up is as follows:

Sky+ is connected to the tv with Profigold Scartflex + QED Qunex audio to the receiver.

Sony Blu Ray is connected using QED Qunex component cables + Bandridge Optical cable to the receiver.

Yamaha is connected to the the tv via a Profigold Hdmi cable.

I am a bit confused as to why the Blu Ray player wouldn't work utilising the Hdmi cable (Monster M1000HD) to the receiver. Is it because my TV is only HD Ready or is there something else that I am missing? I even tried to connect the Hdmi cable from the Blu Ray player direct to the Tv, but this wouldn't work as well. I am a novice to the whole AV systems scenario but I can just about muddle through hand books and manuals.

Even though the connections are done via component, the pictures seem very sharp and the sound is a lot clearer.

My previous DVD was a panansonic DMR-EH60D, which had scart connected to the TV and optical to the receiver. However, with my previous set up I could watch a Dvd with the receiver being switched off. Whereas now with the Blu Ray, if I want to watch a Dvd I need to do it through the receiver.

Any comments, guidance and suggestions would be much appreciated

A very confused member.

Sc00bied00

Sep 3, 2007
Visit site
it sounds like you need to go through the sony menus and make sure you set the output to HDMI. Unoftunately sony don't have a pdf avail for this model on the uk site.