Subwoofer operation seems to be related to volume level

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Please take it easy with me as I am new to home cinema.

I have a Denon AVR 1909 connected to a media center via HDMI. My graphics card supports audio over HDMI and I am having no problems with either video or sound with the exception of sub functionality. My speaker package is a KEF 2000 series with a Kube 2 sub.

If I play a blu ray disc then all seems well but playing hard drive sourced music or streamed music (spotify as an example) or when I play the radio in the amp then it is as if the sub goes to sleep. Occasionaly it "wakes up" for a while and then the base disappears again after a time. It seems that if you increase the master volume on either the media center or the amp then the sub wakes up again. So the fact that this happens with both media center and the avr 1909 radio suggests an amp or sub related issue. Unless of course you need the volume up to keep the sub active, and while that is great most of the time, it's not always appropriate.

I used the Audyssey auto set up and the measurements were accurate. I have the amp set to LFE, speakers set to small. LFE Crossover frequency is 80Hz. I think these are correct but welcome the expert comments from members of the forum

Thanks for reading

matengawhat

Aug 17, 2007
Visit site
do you have your sub set to auto - ie turns itself on and off when recieves a signal - some sub need quite a lot of power/volume to wake up and if its a sources that doesn't have a dedicated lfe track for example music/normal stereo tv it will turn itself off - as t feels it not receiving a signal then will bounce back into life - really annoying my arcam used to do the same thing! Turn the auto switching off so on all the time

Also turn the crossover up to 120hz then rerun audyssey

A

Anonymous

Thanks matengawhat