Standard def performance issues with Sony Bravia 40V4000 tv set. Please help!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Dear All, This is my first time using this forum and i'm hoping for the best!

Before i write below i must make it clear i am a novice when it comes to LCD tvs. I've just replaced my CRT with the new Sony mentioned above. If anyone can provide any advice it will be much appreciated.

Here goes:

I have purchased a Sony Bravia 40V4000 tv which which was installed this weekend. A tv that was recommended by the What Hi Fi magazine in fact. I do not use the analogue or freeview channel embedded within as I watch everything in digital through my Sky+ box (this is connected via scart cable). I also have my xbox 360 connected by a component lead (I think that's what they are called - the blue, red, green leads - I don't use the yellow. My particular Xbox does not allow me to use an HDMI lead for some reason).

Also, and this may be important - I watch the Sky feed through my AV1 channel. I don't think I have the leads to watch it through any others. Does this matter?

My problem - and it may be something that cannot be fixed - is that the Standard Def picture is really unacceptable. I understand that the 'motion blur' (for want of a better description) will happen to a degree on all LCD tvs but it seems rather excessive to me - considering that I have bought a new Sony model. The picture kind of trails or breaks up - I'm sure you know what I mean here. A good example would be watching football - not only does it break up and blur on screen, the general picture looks soft as soon as you turn this channel on.

My questions are: