Speakers For Close wall Use

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the What HiFi community: the world's leading independent guide to buying and owning hi-fi and home entertainment products.

NJB

Nov 28, 2008
Visit site
I had big problems with room resonances etc which I could not easily fix. I was recommended to block the ports and place the speakers really close to the back wall. It has been a big success, my problem was boomy bass but that is now tight and controlled. Not saying that it works every time, cannot vouch for that, but is a cheap test before you invest in more speakers.

xram

Aug 22, 2015
Visit site
I just got the KEF Q100s, which are front-ported and supposedly not fussy with placement, because they had to go on an actual bookshelf. They're around your budget if you can find an open-box pair as I did (accessories4less), and although I am new to hifi and my opinion isn't worth much at all, I'm pleased with them.

Roksan Fan

Aug 22, 2015
Visit site
I ended up buying a immaculate pair of Spendor S3/5R2 off a well known auction site - I have a little more room than I originally thought, the Monitor Audio's sounded awful near the wall with bungs in or out - The Spendor's sound amazing without reservation, the setup now sounds better than I could have hoped. How so much sound that's neutral comes out of so small boxes is a constant source of bewilderment.

The lack of deep bass does not bother me but may be an issue with some but the lack of a port keeps the bass there is tight & with a total lack of any boom which I've always find annoying. Pleased with huge bells on - The more I play them the more I like them. I got a decent price for my Monitor Audio’s & also the stands which were too big for the Spendor’s :)

Roksan Fan

Aug 22, 2015
Visit site