Soup up my turntable?

FahadAhmed

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
Hi Guys,

I have started collecting records for the last 2 years, so obviously I am quite new to the world of turntables. So far, I am quite happy with my budget turntable (project debut). But since my record collection just crossed 200, I have been considering upgrading my turntable (accessories) a bit without breaking the bank. I am contemplating spending $600 on the following items:

1. Ortofon 2M blue

2. Pro-ject Arcyl It Platter

3. Record Doctor V (Vacuum Cleaner)

Are these worthy investments? Your suggestions would be very helpful. Don't want to spend money and end up "not hearing any difference"

Happy_Listener

Jan 1, 2015
Visit site
Over 200 records now? I think it's time for a real upgrade like a new Turntable! The Debut is OK for entry level but your large collection deserves more. I would sell your Debut and try to spend $1000 on somthing new. That's just my opnion. What are the other components in your system?

FahadAhmed

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site
A new TT was a tempting option but my wife might notice such a big change and kill me. The debut goes into my Rega Fono MM pre-amplifier and then to Moon 250i (previously known as Moon i-1) int. amplifier. The speakers are Tannoy DC6T (not the SE ones).

Happy_Listener

Jan 1, 2015
Visit site
Yes, you have a nice integrated amp, I have listened to it before, and you also have a good phono stage. You really do need to upgrade that Turntable. What country are you living in? I got a good deal on a Rega RP40 and couldn't be happier. I think a few places still have them and are discounting.

Happy_Listener

Jan 1, 2015
Visit site
I was going to say there is a place I found in Toronto Canada that is selling the Rega RP40 for $1195 CAD. Just a thought. I don't want your wife to kill you. *pardon*

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
I actually think you listed some good and sensible items short of changing the turntable.