Sonus Faber Concertino Home matching Amp

Jax Teller

Jun 28, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

Newbie here,

Just had my luck to obtain SF Concertino Home 2nd hand in a very good condition, I tried to use with my current amp which is Rotel RA-04

But Sounds not exciting, tend to be muddy, cables I use was Chord Company Odyssey.

I went to my friend's house the other day to listen his SF Concertino (not Home) with his Amp Cambridge Audio 740A.

The sound was beautiful, enganging and good lovely bass, I tried with the song of John Legend - You and I (Nobody in te world) and couple songs from Lorde and Strong from London Grammar

I have done some reasearch and some were saying Rega Brio R but lacks phono input, and others were saying Arcam FMJ A19.

If anyone has some great piece of advice, please shoot, much appreciated.

Thank you

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Hi Jax, and welcome to the forum.

The Concertinos are "old school" SFs, so will be warm, smooth and musical, with a slightly rolled off treble.

Partner them wrongly, and they will sound unexciting and woolly. Partner them well and you will have a realistic and emersive experience, though they will suit Classical and Jazz more than hard hitting Electronic stuff and Heavy Metal.

They will need careful positioning and placed on heavy filled stands (of the correct height).

As for amplification, imo. they need a clean gutsy amp, that isn't too forward or clinical. You can try the likes of the Creek 50A and Arcam A19, but ideally you should be looking at going higher up the food chain, with amps from the likes of Ayre, Electrocompaniet, Croft, Sugden, Audio Analogue, Pathos and Musical Fidelity.

I suppose it depends on what you are prepared to spend and what brands you have access to.

nima

Jan 15, 2014
Visit site
Concertinos don't need beasty amps to work great. They'll be happy with one of the more powerfull Rotels from the past. They'll be great with Naim Nait or similar. I wouldn't recommend MF though.