shopping for Amplifier + speakers - advice requested

roberto

Mar 8, 2012
Visit site
Hello,

I´m in the market for a new stereo, starting with an amplifier and two floor standing speakers (must have a black lak finish) Since I’m new to the hifi world I would like to ask for some advice/feedback/tips.

The budget is €2500; I will use the set mainly for listening to rock music, radio and TV series or movies. But mainly music.

Most of the music I have is digital on a EM7080 hdMEDIA RT media player, 320kb/s mp3 files, some FLAC (am trying to update the FLAC collection), and several CD’s.

Later on I want to invest in a nice DAC or player for the digital music.

I went to a few hifi shops nearby (I live in Krakow, Poland) and they advised me the following:

1st shop:

Arcam FMJ A18

Primare I21

KEF R500

MA RX6

Wireworld Oasis 6 Interconnect, Orbit 16/4 speaker cable

The R500 sounded really good, a lot of detail and body. Listening to the RX6 afterwards made them sound lame and not very entertaining. Although I found that the R500 where a little bright, they just just arrived at the shop and the owner told me that will pass away after a while. Is this true??

I really liked the Arcam, it gave a pleasant sound. The Primare gave better quality sound but it sounded very cold so the Arcam is the favourite here.

As a bonus I also listened to the Yamaha rx-a810, because I wanted to hear the difference between an av amp and a stereo amp. It lacked punch, like it was holding back compared to the Arcam A18. Later at home I realized they did not bi-wire the Yamaha, and I read somewhere that it makes it sound a lot better. The advantage of the AV amp for me is that it has internet radio, support for streaming all-in one box.

2nd shop:

In the 2nd shop I listened to the following set:

Arcam FMJ A28

MA RX6

MA RX8

Chord Analogue Interconnects Chameleon Plus, Chord Carnival SilverScreen speaker cable