Set up problems

adamrhys

Jan 9, 2017
Visit site
I am a total newbie to turntables, but have taken the plunge as I'm desperate to listen to my Dad's old vinyl collection as I did when I was a child.

I bought a Project Essential II at Richer Sounds on Saturday, and have come across two major issues during set up:

1. Having balanced the arm and applied the recommended downforce as per the manual, when I add the anti-skate weight, it pulls the arm sharply off the record, away from the centre. It simply won't stay on.

2. When retunring the lid to closed position, the counter wieght on the rear of the arm is protruding beyond back of the table and is pushed forward by the lid during closing. This means that I have to balance it afresh each time I take the lid off.

This all sounds like the purpose built shelf in my man cave is not level, but I took great pains to make sure that it is. A spirit level on the table and platter show that it is true.

The table I bought was ex display, so could it be in some way damaged, or am I just missing something? I have watched every Project set up video I could find on YouTube, and so I'm sure I'm doing it as instructed.

Anyone have any ideas?

Many thanks, Adam

adamrhys said:
I am a total newbie to turntables, but have taken the plunge as I'm desperate to listen to my Dad's old vinyl collection as I did when I was a child.

I bought a Project Essential II at Richer Sounds on Saturday, and have come across two major issues during set up:

1. Having balanced the arm and applied the recommended downforce as per the manual, when I add the anti-skate weight, it pulls the arm sharply off the record, away from the centre. It simply won't stay on.

2. When retunring the lid to closed position, the counter wieght on the rear of the arm is protruding beyond back of the table and is pushed forward by the lid during closing. This means that I have to balance it afresh each time I take the lid off.